Fork Gaiters

Discuss all things 1970 & later Airheads right here.
Wobbly

Fork Gaiters

Post by Wobbly »

The quote below came from another thread in response to a photo of my 1979 RT/RS. I thought it justified it's own topic thread....
Zombie Master wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:15 am Wobbly needs some fork gaiters stat.
Although I worked at a BMW shop in the early 70's, I'm far from being a qualified BMW mechanic. And the missing 40+ intervening years now leaves me un-versed in all the upgrade paths you can make by combining parts from different model years to get optimal performance.

Would you care to expound on your statement ?
After 20 years as a professional bike mechanic and 30 years as an engineer I know just enough to be dangerous !
Zombie Master

Re: Fork Gaiters

Post by Zombie Master »

Wobbly wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:44 pm The quote below came from another thread in response to a photo of my 1979 RT/RS. I thought it justified it's own topic thread....
Zombie Master wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:15 am Wobbly needs some fork gaiters stat.
Although I worked at a BMW shop in the early 70's, I'm far from being a qualified BMW mechanic. And the missing 40+ intervening years now leaves me un-versed in all the upgrade paths you can make by combining parts from different model years to get optimal performance.

Would you care to expound on your statement ?
The picture you posted of an RS has no fork tube protection. It's like walking around with you zipper open whilst wearing no underwear.
Any and all disclaimers may apply
SteveD

Post by SteveD »

It's all about protecting the fork chrome from rock chips and road damage. That in turn protects the fork seals.
Cheers, Steve
Victoria, S.E.Oz.

1982 R100RSR100RS supergallery. https://boxerboy81.smugmug.com/R100RS
2006 K1200R.
1994 R1100GS.
Steve in Golden

Post by Steve in Golden »

I think Wobbly is aware that he should have them. But wants more info on how / where to get them.