The time has come....

Discuss all things 1970 & later Airheads right here.
The Bigfella

The time has come....

Post by The Bigfella »

G'day folks. A newbie here - from Sydney, Oz.

I've just dragged my old R90S frame out of the basement.... inspired, would you believe, by six weeks riding around Vietnam on a Zinda (China Honda... a whole 107cc's of fun).

Charlie - you've seen her when you called through a while back. She's one from the original shipment of '73 bikes - solid discs, nice old switchgear. I've had her so long, I can't even remember when I bought her. Some time in the late 70's - to replace a Honda 750 that I used to thrash up the Bells Line of Road to just beyond Orange every weekend - having got sick of the hinge in the middle of the Honda's frame. I know I had her for the World's End Rally in '78... so, it was '77 or '78.

I shouldn't be too hard on the Honda - because the R90S nearly spat me off up near Bathurst the first day I had her. Yep, a 200kph speed wobble... using all of two lanes until we got things sorted out. A new valve in the front tyre, straightened forks, new steering head bearings and a change of underwear sorted that little problem out. She'd had a hard life before I got her. I probably wasn't kind to her either - fitting air shocks and a 2>1 exhaust system - neither of which will be used again. Hell, I even gave my tank and other panels to a guy who needed them more than me.... although I ended up with a nice set of R100S tank and panels back.