old scool new bikes

This is for the discussion of Motorcycling. The art, the science, the theory of all things related to our favorite sport... riding motorcycles.
Zombie Master

old scool new bikes

Post by Zombie Master »

Any and all disclaimers may apply
Sibbo

Re: old scool new bikes

Post by Sibbo »

Complete with a pre unit box.
"You ain't gonna learn what you don't want to know"
The Grateful Dead
Wobbly

Post by Wobbly »

A pal just got back from Nepal where he rode the single cyl RE Himalayan for 2 weeks. He liked it. He had one photo sequence where they crossed a ravine some 150 feet wide and 600 feet deep on a swinging V-shaped cable bridge. They were only able to do this with the motorcycles because the bottom of the "bridge" had a single wooden board about twice the width of the tires.

Yikes ! :shock:
After 20 years as a professional bike mechanic and 30 years as an engineer I know just enough to be dangerous !
dougie

Post by dougie »

Do we know anyone who has, or used to have a Royal Enfield.
All I ever heard about them was not good. The typical unreliability stuff about older Brit bikes, and that the Indian ones were just as bad or worse.
I find something compelling about an air-cooled 500cc single with push button start (for my old bones), but I despise dodgy electrics.
I've spent most of my money on women, motorcycles, and beer.
The rest of it I just wasted.
Wobbly

Post by Wobbly »

I work in a Brit bike shop, and actually the most reliable bikes there are the RE singles. I like to work on them because they are simple to work on, readily respond to maintenance, and are really fun to test drive. The English versions used better sealants. The Indian versions have vastly updated electrics. Both have virtually the same bullet-proof engine design and velvet smooth ride.
After 20 years as a professional bike mechanic and 30 years as an engineer I know just enough to be dangerous !
Zombie Master

Post by Zombie Master »