Some wisdom

This is for the discussion of Motorcycling. The art, the science, the theory of all things related to our favorite sport... riding motorcycles.
Zombie Master

Some wisdom

Post by Zombie Master »

Found this in an old file. Seems like serious wisdom. No 6 is my favourite lesson, I keep learning over, and over again.

1. Don't be self taught. When you learn from the masters, you get started on a higher plane. The more you can learn from the masters, the sooner you start producing top quality work.

2. Start with basic assembly. Vince Lombardi taught that football was a series of simple steps, blocks, tackles, runs, etc.Learn how to change tires, align chains, torque fasteners, clean parts, change fluids, etc. All while keeping your tools organized.

3. Keep your tools organized at all times. Organizing the workspace is crucial.

4.The secret to working on modern machines is the ability to anticipate what parts will be needed so that you are not tempted to reuse seals, fasteners, shims,or connectors that should be replaced. You are able to have all your parts cleaned and organized ahead of time to get the job done. Unlike older 50's and 60's cars
where almost all parts were reusable.

5. The secret to trouble shooting modern electrics is to park the same model machine next to yours and start intelligently swapping parts. The computer seldom makes a correct diagnosis.In the future, car and motorcycle clubs will organize to help make it possible for members to swap parts with others who have the same car/bike.

6. Factory parts have a lot more durability/reliabilitytesting than aftermarket parts. They also fit much faster. You need really compelling reasons to deviate from stock.It is almost always MORE expensive to use aftermarket components. The four common exceptions to this rule are tires, shocks, lights, and radios.