1988 R100RT Front End Oscillation

Discuss all things 1970 & later Airheads right here.
economou

1988 R100RT Front End Oscillation

Post by economou »

Does anyone know what caused the front end of my bike to suddently get in to an oscilation and within less than a second to cause the bike to instantly fall over going at 40MPH? Needless to say it threw me over and I was lucky enough to get away with a fructured wrist. I owned this bike for two years and never had any indication that it was that dangerous to ride. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Peter
Ray from Indiana

Re: 1988 R100RT Front End Oscillation

Post by Ray from Indiana »

A tank slapper eh?

Have you done any work or mods on the bike recently?

Some possible causes ( I'm no expert ):
- bad or loose steering head bearings
- bad front tire or wheel
- bad front wheel bearings
- forks out of alignment
- hitting a rock that makes the front tire airborne
- accelerating on a bumpy road surface in a turn
- overloaded with touring gear?

I hit a good size hole on I-80 in Illinois while riding my Guzzi. The Guzzi EV shook its head pretty good but damped out by itself. I think there is still a munch mark left on the seat. Glad you didn't suffer a worse injury although wrist injuries are not welcomed either.
khittner1

Post by khittner1 »

For not being an expert, Ray certainly hit the obvious culprits. Any of those would be aggravated by a worn-out rear tire, rear swingarm bearings in need of service/adjustment, and sacked rear suspension bits. Sounds like the ol' RT is in need of some knowledgeable service attention (which may or may not be available at your closest roundel-clad unit movers); that isn't the way well-maintained airheads behave, even on lousy road surfaces.

Konrad
Duane Ausherman

Post by Duane Ausherman »